Learn, Practice, Play Blackjack
Learn, Practice, Play Table Games
Learn, Practice, Play Slots
Learn, Practice, Play Poker
Learn, Practice, Play Bingo
500 Nations Casino

Native American Hemp Industry

American Indian tribes can self-regulate their production of hemp by joining the U.S. Domestic Hemp Production Program.

U.S. Domestic Hemp Production Program

This federal program allows states and Indian tribes to submit plans to the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) for the self-administration of hemp production. The USDA reviews each plan and renders approval if it complies with federal policies.

Tribal plans will not be approved if hemp production is banned by the state or banned by tribal members. Tribes or states without a USDA-approved plan will be regulated by the federal government.

Tribes with USDA-Approved Hemp Plans

Last update June 24, 2020

There are 32 tribes with USDA-approved hemp plans.

Colorado River Indian Tribes

La Jolla Band of Luiseno Indians
Pala Band of Mission Indians
Santa Rosa Band of Cahuilla Indians
Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo
Yurok Tribe

Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida

Sac & Fox Tribe of Mississippi in Iowa

Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska
Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians Waganakising Odawa

Red Lake Band of Chippewa

Blackfeet Nation
Chippewa Cree
Fort Belknap Indian Community

Santee Sioux Nation
Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska

Pueblo of Picuris Tribe

Cayuga Nation of New York
Seneca Nation of Indians

Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians

Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribe
Otoe-Missouria Tribe
Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma

Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs

Cheyenne River Sioux
Flandreau Santee Sioux
Oglala Sioux Tribe
Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

Lac Courte Oreilles

States with USDA-Approved Hemp Plans

Last update June 24, 2020

There are 17 states with USDA-approved hemp plans:
Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Source: USDA

News Articles

USDA-approved hemp plans expands to 32 tribes

June 25, 2020

Tribal plans approved by the USDA for self-regulation of hemp production has been given to 32 tribes across 16 states.

For the current list of these tribes, see Native American Hemp Industry.

The latest approvals were awarded to four tribes in four states. These are the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe in South Dakota, Chippewa Cree Tribe in Montana, the Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians in Wisconsin and the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in Minnesota.

Five additional tribes are seeking approval. An application from the Eastern Tribe of Cherokee Indians (NC) is under review. The Navajo Nation San Juan River Farm (NM) is preparing to resubmit its application.

The remaining three tribes are the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe (NY), Ute Mountain Ute (CO) and Yankton Sioux Tribe (SD) are drafting plans for USDA review.

Back    See > Native American Hemp Industry